Generation Gap

Ruth tells me that she just cant’ leap the Generation gap she shares with her daughter and it’s getting on her nerves. She thinks that her daughter is a complete stranger and she doesn’t understand her anymore. Other people around us agreed on what she was saying.

I for my part was quiet because I think “Generation gap” is overrated. I think that failure to understand parent’s perspective and vice-versa is the most natural thing that happens with everyone. There is no gap. Parents have gone through the same process and have matured and now it’s children turn. It’s not like parents can’t understand but it’s just that they don’t approve.

When I listen to the stories of my parent’s childhood, I’m elated at the similarities we share. They were like me; strong headed, quick tempered and naughty. They were difficult for their parents and have quite a lot of mischievous incidents in their bags. But these only sounds like stories because I can’t imagine them doing things like that. Because then they would understand why I do what I do.

But as I said they have gone though the maturing process and now they know the implications of things they did and don’t want history to be repeated . I’m now somewhere in the middle of that process. Things I used to like, and my parents used to despise, are starting to irritate me too. I look 5 years back and think,”Was I really that stupid?”.  I’m starting to understand their perspective and for next generation I might be creating the ‘Gap’ with that understanding.

As a child , you have to go through this process, simple or hard way, and as a parent, you can just try to make that process smooth. Ultimately as some wise man said, “You can try to guide people, but you can’t change their destiny”. So stop worrying about this gap too much, it’s natural , run its course and ultimately finishes and waits for another wave.

Love,

R.S.

2 thoughts on “Generation Gap”

  1. I think it is important for parents to know that their children cannot see things as they the parents see them. Their minds and eyes are not yet mature. On their part, children should be educated to understand that they see with the eyes of children and may not see all the angles so they should pay attention to their parents.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

